Skip to content

Elizabeth

While I prepare the upcoming game diary posts, there have been a few older games I have toyed with. One of those games is The Witcher 2. I hadn’t played it further than the first chapter but I’m not overly sold on it. Maybe I’m not feeling this type of setting anymore. I felt the same when I played Skyrim and have no plans ever to spend time in that world again. Fantasy world settings just don’t seem to inspire enough empathy for me with the characters I get to play. Something worth remembering for the future I suppose.

Back to the game diaries and just before I get mixed up in Gears of War: Judgment, there is an element of Bioshock Infinite I want to highlight. Something I think that should engage me like no other game I have played over the last 5 years. That element is the AI companion, Elizabeth.

bioshock-infinite-comstock-elizabeth

Elizabeth is your AI companion in Bioshock Infinite but she almost didn’t make the cut.

After playing a female character in the reboot of Tomb Raider, I’ll now have the pleasure of being paired with a female companion that looks sure to break the ‘damsel in distress’ stereotypes. An interesting side-note to that is what Ken Levine said about the development of Elizabeth in his recent Q&A at Bafta. The video of the Q&A is below and I recommended watching it all but to find the references to Elizabeth you will find them from 16 minutes in.

Interestingly Ken Levine states that, ‘the most requested cut feature, in this game, from our team was Elizabeth’. I’ll not pour out the details why that was here in this post because Ken does a good job of telling the audience why after that statement. He does also state that Elizabeth is the heart of the game. There is also a demonstration of how free-wheeling she can be in the game IF the player allows her the freedom. Like I said, if you haven’t watched the Q&A yet and are planning to play Bioshock Infinite then do watch it. Ken Levine is a very charismatic speaker and you can’t help be infused with his enthusiasm.

I’ll be posting my Bioshock Infinite and Gears of War: Judgement game diary posts from around the 26th March.

One Comment Post a comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Berlin | Sweet Flag

Leave a Reply

