Skip to content

Without

There is a danger in knowing too much. Knowing what is to come or what is expected can curse the appreciation of the present. Going into Bioshock Infinite knowing that Booker must first find Elizabeth before Columbia displays all its glory is a push designed to move the player headlong towards her rescue.

bookeliz

After arriving in Columbia via rocket, little pieces slowly reveal themselves.  The urge to press forward, to forgo solo-Booker is something I didn’t consider before hand. Yet very little of his past is brought about in these early hours of the game. Mainly there are hints of a past that is littered by dark deeds and violence. I’m still unconvinced at this point if Booker has been either a power for good that has lost his way, a mercenary capable of all types of deception or something else entirely.

With so little known about either Elizabeth or Booker in this early part of the game, I’m beginning to wonder if this is not just a story of Elizabeth experiencing Columbia from outside her prison but also the discovery of who exactly Booker is and what, if any, connection he has to her. This has been compounded by a possible spoiler I glimpsed a few days ago and although I have not looked to confirm it or not, it has begun to influence my thoughts.

I, as Booker, have now reached and rescued Elizabeth. Columbia is now playing out as a vivid, often oppressive backdrop to the gameplay. I’ve not come away from any game previous thinking as much as I do than I have with Bioshock Infinite. In the next post I’ll be digging further into the psyche of Booker and Elizabeth as the game allows me.

Next up in this Bioshock Infinite game diary – Lamb.

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Oh how I envy you. I would love to experience Bioshock: Infinite for the first time again. I’ve enjoyed your game diary so far, I hope you enjoy the game as much as I have. I am chronicling the game during my second playthrough right now on my blog (don’t visit it until you are done with your first) and I am finding just as fascinating as the first time around. Only in a different way. You have so much to see in learn. Have fun!

    March 30, 2013
  2. looks very cool, I need to check that out

    March 30, 2013
  3. Thank you. I did have a look over your blog and steered myself away quickly as, like you said, it deals with your second playthrough. I did like what I did read mind and I’ll be sure to head back on my second 1999 playthrough.

    March 30, 2013
  4. I started a 1999 playthrough, but eventually had to slink away in shame. I lack the skills and/or paitence for such an endevour. My hat’s off to you if you can accomplish it.

    March 30, 2013
  5. My initial playthrough I decided on ‘hard’ so naturally I’d want to try 1999 but that doesn’t mean I’ll be able to complete it on this mode. Do you imagine playing Bioshock Infinite through more than twice?

    March 30, 2013
  6. I doubt I will do it more than twice without years between playthroughs. I wanted to play it again because once you know the whole story you’ll view everything differently. That makes it worthwhile. Plus combining it with a blog makes it rather fun.

    March 30, 2013
  7. Understood. What will you do after though? You seem to have an eye for a good post so will you start a new blog or do you have others already?

    March 30, 2013
  8. This is my first one. I’ve never blogged before. If I continue to enjoy it I’ll make another one when ideas for this one run dry. Its hard to say on what though.

    March 30, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Lighthouse | Sweet Flag

Leave a Reply

